INTERNATIONAL UNION OF LAWYERS


MAIN OBJECTIVES AND TASKS

The Constitutive Congress of the USSR Union of Lawyers was held at the Palace of Congresses on June 22-23, 1989.

The Constitutive Congress of the USSR Union of Lawyers was held at the Palace of Congresses on June 22-23, 1989. It was attended by almost half a million of representatives of the legal community, which comprised legal professionals from law enforcement agencies and national economy.
At the Congress there were 1047 delegates elected from all union republics. 905 delegates attended the Congress. The number of elected delegates included 140 representatives of judicial system, 133 lawyers engaged in national economy, 94 jurists, research workers and law teachers of academic institutes, 90 advocates. There were 53 doctors of law and 105 candidates of law among delegates. 130 delegates were women. Only 5 people of all the delegates had associate's degree - the rest had lawyer's diplomas. 94% of the delegates were communists. 6 delegates were deputies of the USSR Supreme Soviet.
Head of the State Law Department of the CPSU Central Committee A. Pavlov, Chairman of the USSR Supreme Court E. Smolentsev, Prosecutor General of the USSR A. Sukharev, Chief State Arbitrator of the USSR Y. Matveyev and other chiefs of law enforcement agencies, judicial institutions and research institutions took part in the work of the Congress.
Tadjik SSR's delegates proposed to begin with the moment of silence in honor of those who killed during the Great Patriotic War.
The deputy Minister of the USSR Ministry of Justice M. Vishinski presented the paper "The USSR Union of Lawyers' Main Tasks under the Conditions of Formation Social Legal State".
The paper was a subject of much discussion followed by propositions to move amendments to the Draft Charter of the USSR Union of Lawyers made by 40 delegates who spoke for two days discussing the place and the role of the first association of lawyers in the country.

Then it was declared the creation of the USSR Union of Lawyers - nationwide organization of legal professionals. Some of its main objectives set forth were participation in the lawmaking activity of the state with the view to the expanding national democracy and glasnost. The organization's other main objectives included: promoting efficient realization of law reform, strengthening the Rule of Law in the context of people's sovereignty, perfection and strengthening constitutional order in the country as a timely move. The Union of Lawyers undertook to ensure higher prestige of the legal profession, socio-legal protection of lawyers, observance of moral and legal standards of professional ethics.

The delegates adopted Draft Charter of the USSR Union of Lawyers, elected central bodies and adopted the resolution of "Establishing the USSR Union of Lawyers". Andrey Adamovich Trebkov was elected as a Chairman of the USSR Union of Lawyers.
At the Congress the participants were addressed by the Candidate for a member of the Political Bureau of the CPSU Central Committee, First Deputy Chairman of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR A.I. Lukianov who passed the most heartfelt greetings to the Congress from the Secretary General of the CPSU Central Committee, the Chairman of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR M.S. Gorbachev. At the Congress A.I. Lukianov answered various questions of the delegates.

***

The International Union of Lawyers was established in 1989.

The Union exercises its functions and fulfils its purposes as a successor to the USSR Union of Lawyers. Membership in the Union is open to individuals without regard to their status as nationals or aliens. It shall be composed of professional lawyers as well as nationwide associations. Over 30 thousand lawyers and nongovernmental associations from Russia, the Republic of Azerbaijan, the Republic of Armenia, the Republic of Byelorussia, Georgia, Ukraine, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Republic of Kyrgyz, the Republic of Tajikistan, the Republic of Moldova, the republic of Uzbekistan, Great Britain, the Federal Republic of Germany, Franc, Spain, New Zealand are joined on the base of general professional interests by the Union.

Membership includes representatives of legal professionals: judges, advocates, prosecutors and notary publics, lawyers engaged in business structure and public system, law teachers and scholars. The Union comprises important nongovernmental associations. In particular, the Russian Association of International Law, the Association of International Maritime Law, the Criminological Association, the International Russian Bar Association and others.

The Union has an administrative and a policymaking structure, which comprises: a Chairman, Coordinating Council, Executive Committee and Auditing Commission. Union's activities are based on the enlisting of the members in the composition of the Union of Lawyers' standing commissions.

Annually international union of lawyers conducts sessions of the managing body - Coordination council
Annually international union of lawyers conducts sessions
of the managing body - Coordination council

One of the main tasks of the Union of Lawyers is to unite the lawyers of the CIS countries and other countries with the view to the development of cooperation among them. The Union of Lawyers strives to make a contribution to formation of civil society. It shall promote consolidation of legal community with a view to the achievement of civil harmony, protecting rights and legal interests of citizens and strengthening business relations among practicing lawyers and scholars of the CIS countries.

Reception of the official delegation of the legal society of China in the International union of lawyers
Reception of the official delegation of the legal society of China
in the International union of lawyers

The Union of Lawyers does in fact often look to foreign experience and to experience of countries with the developed legal base of market economy. It always focuses its attention on providing legal aid to economic reforms. As a result the Union of Lawyers has successfully hosted numerous international conferences, seminars and symposiums providing a forum where individuals from all nations and all areas of legal profession could gather and exchange ideas and experience.

The Union of Lawyers has successfully hosted numerous international conferences, seminars and symposiums
The Union of Lawyers has successfully hosted numerous international conferences, seminars and symposiums

Mr. A.A. Trebkov, Honored Lawyer of the Russian Federation, Candidate of Law is the Chairman of the International Union of Lawyers.

Chairman of the International Union of Lawyers
Chairman of the International Union of Lawyers,
President of the Union of Lawyers of Russia,
Honored Lawyer of the Russian Federation,
Candidate of Law
Mr. Andrey Adamovich Trebkov


"The International Union of Lawyers"
20/2, Bersenevskaya nab., Moscow, 119072, Russia
tel: (495) 959-06-21  fax: (495) 959-30-58
e-mail: info@unionlawyers.ru

russian version

МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫЙ СОЮЗ ЮРИСТОВ


МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫЙ СОЮЗ ЮРИСТОВ
п р а в о п р е е м н и к   С о ю з а    ю р и с т о в   С С С Р


ОСНОВНЫЕ ЦЕЛИ И ЗАДАЧИ

22 и 23 июня 1989 г. в Колонном зале Дома союзов проходил Учредительный съезд Союза юристов СССР. Делегаты и гости представляли почти полумиллионный отряд правоведов, занимающихся профессиональной юридической деятельностью в правоохранительных органах в народном хозяйстве.
На съезде избрано 1047 делегатов из всех союзных республик нашей страны. Присутствовало на съезде 905 делегатов. Из числа избранных - 140 представителей судебной системы, 133 юриста, занятых в народном хозяйстве, 94 - правоведов, научных работников и преподавателей правовых дисциплин высших учебных заведений, 90 - адвокатов. Среди делегатов 53 доктора юридических наук и 105 - кандидатов. 130 делегатов - женщины. Лишь 5 человек из делегатов имеют среднее юридическое образование, остальные - высшее. 94 % делегатов - коммунисты. 6 делегатов - народные депутаты СССР.
В работе съезда принимали участие заведующие Государственно - правовым отделом ЦК КПСС А Павлов. Председатель Верховного Суда СССР Е. Смоленцев, Генеральный прокурор СССР А Сухарев. Главный государственный арбитр СССР Ю. Матвеев, другие руководители правоохранительных органов, учреждений юстиции, научных учреждений.
По предложению делегатов Таджикской ССР делегаты почтили минутой молчания память погибших на фронтах Великой Отечественной войны.
С докладом "Основные задачи Союза юристов СССР в условиях формирования социалистического правового государства" выступил заместитель Министра юстиции СССР М. Вышинский.
В прениях по докладу и с предложениями по внесению изменений в проект устава Союза юристов СССР за два дня выступило 40 делегатов, которые обсудили место и роль впервые создаваемого в стране объединения юристов.
Затем было провозглашено создание Союза юристов СССР - профессионально-общественной творческой организации, среди задач которой - участие в законотворческой деятельности государства, ее демократизации и дальнейшем расширении гласности. Немаловажно, чтобы Союз активно содействовал скорейшему претворению в жизнь судебно - правовой реформы, утверждению роли закона как акта суверенной воли народа и, что сейчас особенно актуально, совершенствованию и укреплению конституционного порядка в стране. Еще одна цель Союза - повышение престижа и статуса юридических профессий, укрепление социально-правовой защищенности юристов, строгое соблюдение нравственно - правовых норм профессиональной этики.
Делегаты съезда приняли временный устав Союза юристов СССР, избрали центральные органы, приняли резолюцию "Об учреждении Союза юристов СССР". Председателем Союза юристов СССР избран Андрей Адамович Требков.
На съезде выступил кандидат в члены Политбюро ЦК КПСС, первый заместитель Председателя Верховного Совета СССР А. И. Лукьянов, который передал самые сердечные поздравления съезду Генерального секретаря ЦК КПСС, Председателя Верховного Совета СССР М. С. Горбачева. А. И. Лукьянов ответил на многочисленные вопросы делегатов съезда.

***

Международный союз юристов создан в 1989 году.
Союз осуществляет свою деятельность в качестве правопреемника Союза юристов СССР. Членами Союза юристов могут быть как отдельные граждане независимо от национальной принадлежности и страны проживания, имеющие юридическое образование, так и общественные объединения. Союз объединяет на основе общих профессиональных интересов свыше 30 тысяч юристов и общественные объединения из России, Азербайджанской Республики, Республики Армения, Республики Беларусь, Грузии , Украины, Республики Казахстан, Кыргызской Республики, Республики Таджикистан, Республики Молдова, Республики Узбекистан, Великобритании, Федеративной Республики Германии, Франции, Испании, Новой Зеландии и других стран.
Членами Союза юристов являются представители всех юридических специальностей: судьи, адвокаты, прокуроры, нотариусы, юристы, обслуживающие хозяйственные структуры и работающие в системе государственной службы, преподаватели и ученые. В Союз входят крупные общественные объединения юристов. В частности, Российская ассоциация международного права, Ассоциация международного морского права, Криминологическая ассоциация, Межрегиональная коллегия адвокатов России и другие.
Для организации работы Союза избирается Председатель Союза, Координационный Совет, Исполнительный комитет, Ревизионная коллегия. Вся деятельность Союза строится на основе широкого привлечения членов в состав постоянных комиссий Союза юристов.

Ежегодно Международный союз юристов проводит заседания своего руководящего органа - Координационного совета
Ежегодно Международный союз юристов проводит заседания своего руководящего органа - Координационного совета

Одна из главных задач Союза юристов - проведение целенаправленной работы по развитию сотрудничества юристов стран СНГ и других стран мира.

Приём официальной делегации юридического общества КНР в Международном союзе юристов
Приём официальной делегации юридического общества КНР
в Международном союзе юристов

Союз юристов стремится внести свой вклад в формирование гражданского общества. Консолидации юридической общественности в целях достижения гражданского согласия, защиты прав и законных интересов граждан, укрепления деловых связей между практикующими юристами и учеными страны Содружества.
Союз юристов обращается к зарубежному опыту, к опыту стран с развитой правовой базой рыночной экономики. В центре его внимания всегда находились проблемы правового обеспечения экономических преобразований. В этих целях Международный союз юристов провел ряд крупномасштабных международных конференций, семинаров, симпозиумов.

Международный союз юристов провел ряд крупномасштабных международных конференций, семинаров, симпозиумов
Международный союз юристов провел ряд крупномасштабных международных конференций, семинаров, симпозиумов

Председатель международного союза юристов - Требков А.А., заслуженный юрист Российской Федерации, кандидат юридических наук.

Председатель Международного союза юристов
Председатель Международного союза юристов,
Президент Союза юристов России,
Заслуженный юрист Российской Федерации,
кандидат юридических наук
Андрей Адамович Требков


"Международный союз юристов"
Россия, 119072, Москва, Берсеневская набережная, 20/2
тел: (495) 959-06-21 факс: (495) 959-30-58
e-mail: info@unionlawyers.ru


english version